Love Diaries: Is It Acceptable To Have A Non-Supportive Spouse……..H No!

love pics 2

 

Okay, so I was talking to my friend, who is planning a dinner party to celebrate a very extraordinary milestone; she graduated with her Master’s Degree!  So, she started to run down the details and only one caught my attention; her man wasn’t going to be there because he had a prior engagement with his “boys”, you know what my first reaction was………..RIGHT.  My reaction to my friend was…….. he is going to do what…….. with whom…………and when………on your special day………….I think not.  Although I was sickened at my friend’s man decision, I just wanted to be there for my friend and listened to her.  Afterwards, I gave her my advice because if you love someone, you owe it to them to be honest.  Basically, I feel like if you are in a relationship with a man or woman whose attitude is, “I don’t get a fudge”, about you or your accomplishments; then you probably need to move on.  How healthy is it to be in a committed relationship with someone who is not committed to your life and everything that goes on within it? Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s not realistic to get 100% of what you need in any relationship, but it is realistic to find a person who knows your worth and treat you accordingly.  They might can’t be there for everything you go through, but it’s nice to know that you have someone who consistently has your back and not only tells you they care; but shows you with their actions.  Someone who attends social events in honor of your accomplishments; hugs you when you are lonely; accepting you when you make mistakes; deals with you through your pain and hurt (I’m unreasonable when I feel hurt or threatened); hold you when you cry; kiss you just to do so; and know that you come before “hanging with the boys”. 

In closing, my husband has tons of annoying ways, but one thing that I can not take from him is his ability to continuously be supportive of everything in my life; good or bad.  Knowing that you have that unconditional love and support, gives you the strength to get through the challenges we face and goals we strive towards.  So, if your spouse is not supportive………… move to the next and make sure that they give you nothing less than support and respect.  And if you feel like you just can’t leave or you are just not ready, ask God to change that man or woman’s heart because he is the only one who can mend it.  Quite honestly, I don’t understand how a person wants to stay in a unsupportive and disrespectful relationship, the world is harsh enough.  When you get home, all you need is the support, love, and respect to get through the harshness of the world……………not live it in the sanctuary of your home.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

