Recap: Soul Train Awards Show, 2009

Okay, so I was impressed with the classy atmosphere of the Soul Train Awards, but a little bored.  There was some highlights!  First, I have to give it up for the night’s host Taraji P. Henson (love her!) and Terrence Howard, I think they did a wonderful job keeping the show going over the rough spots of the show.   Before I get to the show highlights, I have to give you some background.  The show was held at the World Congress Center in Atlanta, Georgia (YES, the home of the Real Housewives of Atlanta… and they were in attendance!)

The award show was a surprise to many, since the show had been on hiatus for a couple of years.  Now, back to my favorite parts of the show.  I really enjoyed Chrissette Michele performance, she was classy, relatable, simply, just her without the extra effects like back round dancers and over- the top backdrops.  I wasn’t a Chrissette Michele fan until last night, “Blame It On Me”, sold me over to her fan base.  I also enjoyed Trey Songs, he too owned simplicity last night.  He did have dancers, but they wasn’t EXTRA; and his voice was flawless.  The night’s big winner was Keri Hilson (taking home best new artist/best female soul.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another great moment was the Charlie Wilson and Chaka Khan tributes.  I especially loved “Uncle Charlie’s” Tribute, I loved the way he was transparent and openly talking about his drug use and prostate cancer.  I liked the message that he was sending out, that he didn’t let his drug use keep him oppressed.  He eventually got out his rut with God and the love of his wife and that is beautiful (I have to mention that his song, “There Goes My Baby”, is one of my favorite songs at the moment!). He also brought awareness to prostate cancer and sent the message to our African American men to get tested because early detection was the key to stop his cancer. And I will end my highlights for the 2009 Soul Train Awards with………………….Terrence and Taraji would make a cute couple; especially after the “tongue fest” at the end of the show!  There was also performances but Fantasia, Erica Badu, Robin Thicke, Keith Sweat, Boys II Men, Keri Kelson, Ginuwine, Johnny Gill, and many more! Enjoy some of the pics from this night.

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

